All tools · Last checked Oct 16, 2026 · Runway re-verified Oct 17, 2026
Runway pricing: what a usable video actually costs
General AI video generation and editing (Gen-4.5, third-party models in one place).
Official site Official pricing
Plans
| Plan | Monthly | Annual equiv. | Credits/mo | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0/mo monthly | $0/mo annual equiv. | 125 | One-time 125 credits, does not expire |
| Standard | $15/mo monthly | $12/mo annual equiv. | 625 | 625 credits/mo |
| Pro | $35/mo monthly | $28/mo annual equiv. | 2250 | 2,250 credits/mo |
| Max | $95/mo monthly | $76/mo annual equiv. | 9500 | 9,500 credits/mo; up to 1 month rollover |
Credits explained
Credits are spent per generation. Gen-4.5 is 12 credits/second (60 credits / 5s, 120 / 10s; generations are 2–10s each, so longer finished videos are stitched). Paid plans get a monthly allotment that resets on the billing date (Standard/Pro do not roll over; Max rolls up to one month); Free gets a one-time 125 credits that do not expire. Purchased credits: minimum 1,000, starting at $10 ($0.01/credit), never expire, spent after plan credits. Standard is $15/mo on monthly billing or $12/mo annual-equivalent (625 credits = $0.024 or $0.0192 per credit).
Plan-limit reality: Standard’s 625 credits cover ~52s of Gen-4.5 a month — about 1× 30s try (360 credits), leaving 265 credits. One usable 30s video with 2 retries needs 1,080 credits, so Standard alone covers zero such videos in a month; with no retries it covers one 30s finished video. The often-quoted $20.74 is 1,080 credits valued at the annual Standard rate ($0.0192) — an effective cost, not cash the Standard plan alone can pay that month. If you top up, the blended long-run cost is $12 (full month’s Standard credits) + 455 × $0.01 = $16.55, with $10 cash due for the minimum 1,000-credit top-up and 545 purchased credits left over (they never expire).
| Model / mode | Rate | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gen-4.5 | 12 credits/sec | Verified rate | Verified: 60 credits / 5s |
| Gen-4 | 12 credits/sec | Verified rate | Verified Oct 17, 2026: 60 credits / 5s, 120 / 10s |
| Gen-4 Turbo | 5 credits/sec | Verified rate | Verified Oct 17, 2026 in Runway’s Gen-4 help doc: 25 credits / 5s, 50 / 10s. Pricing-page plan examples imply ~6/sec for Standard/Pro — direct model doc used. |
| Veo 3.1 with audio (via Runway) | 40 credits/sec | Estimate — see note | Estimate from Runway help example: 10s Veo 3.1 with audio = 400 credits |
Cost per finished video (before retries)
| Length | Cheapest calculable cost | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| 5s finished video (1 attempt, no retries) | $0.20 | Gen-4 Turbo (5 credits/sec) on Max (annual) |
| 30s finished video (1 attempt, no retries) | $1.20 | Gen-4 Turbo (5 credits/sec) on Max (annual) |
| 60s finished video (1 attempt, no retries) | $2.40 | Gen-4 Turbo (5 credits/sec) on Max (annual) |
Retries multiply this: with 2 retries (3 attempts total) a 30s video costs roughly 3× the table price. Use the calculator with your real retry count.
Watermark & commercial use
Watermark: Free/paid watermark details not stated on the pricing page fetched — check official pricing before publishing commercially.
Commercial: Not stated on the pricing page fetched — check official pricing / terms. Do not assume commercial rights from this page.
Plan traps to know
- Standard & Pro: monthly credits do NOT roll over — they reset on your billing date.
- Max: up to one month of unused credits rolls over.
- Purchased credits never expire; minimum purchase 1,000 credits for $10 ($0.01/credit, paid plans only), spent after plan credits.
- Plan limit: Standard’s 625 credits cover ~52s of Gen-4.5/month — about 1× 30s try (360 credits), NOT a 30s usable clip with 2 retries (1,080 credits).
- Gen-4.5 makes 2–10s generations only — a 30s finished video is multiple generations stitched together.
Best for
General AI video generation and editing (Gen-4.5, third-party models in one place).
Source
Verified from runway.com/pricing, How do credits work?, credit rollover / purchased credits, Creating with Gen-4.5 and Creating with Gen-4 Video — re-verified Oct 17, 2026. If a figure says “check official pricing”, it could not be verified from an official public page that day and we did not guess it.